MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 17 May 2019 (7:50 - 8:00 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Peter Chand (Chair)
Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos	Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah	Cllr Sanchia Alasia
Cllr Saima Ashraf	Cllr Abdul Aziz	Cllr Toni Bankole
Cllr Princess Bright	Cllr Sade Bright	Cllr Laila M. Butt
Cllr Evelyn Carpenter	Cllr Josie Channer	Cllr Faruk Choudhury
Cllr John Dulwich	Cllr Edna Fergus	Cllr Irma Freeborn
Cllr Cameron Geddes	Cllr Syed Ghani	Cllr Rocky Gill
Cllr Kashif Haroon	Cllr Jane Jones	Cllr Amardeep Singh Jamu
Cllr Eileen Keller	Cllr Mohammed Khan	Cllr Donna Lumsden
Cllr Olawale Martins	Cllr Mick McCarthy	Cllr Giasuddin Miah
Cllr Dave Miles	Cllr Margaret Mullane	Cllr Glenda Paddle
Cllr Simon Perry	Cllr Moin Quadri	Cllr Foyzur Rahman
Cllr Tony Ramsay	Cllr Chris Rice	Cllr Lynda Rice
Cllr Ingrid Robinson	Cllr Paul Robinson	Cllr Darren Rodwell
Cllr Emily Rodwell	Cllr Muhammad Saleem	Cllr Faraaz Shaukat
Cllr Dominic Twomey	Cllr Lee Waker	Cllr Phil Waker
Cllr Maureen Worby		

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr Bill Turner

5. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

6. Conferring of the Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The Chair advised that a special meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called in order to consider two nominations for the award of the Freedom of the Borough, the highest honour that a Council could bestow on an individual in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Councillor Worby moved and Councillor Twomey seconded the nomination of Mr Neal Crowley as Honorary Freeman of the Borough. Councillor Worby spoke on Neal's tireless work on behalf of the local community in relation to a wide range of equal opportunity and inclusion issues, as well as his roles as Lead Volunteer in the Borough and advocate for improved access for disabled people. Other notable achievements included Neal's active role in the Borough's 50th anniversary celebrations during 2015, his coaching of athletes from Barking and Dagenham at the Special Olympics in Sheffield in 2017 and his current role as Chairperson of

the International Day of Disabled People (IDDP).

Councillor Geddes moved and Councillor Kangethe seconded the nomination of Mr Jeff Porter as Honorary Freeman of the Borough. Councillor Geddes drew particular attention to Mr Porter's service as a Councillor between 1998 to 2006 and his bravery during the 7 July 2005 London terror attacks when, in his profession as a London Underground train driver, he helped the evacuation of passengers caught up in the bombing of a train at Edgware Road station.

The Ceremonial Council **resolved** to award the Honorary Freedom of the Borough to Mr Neal Crowley and Mr Jeff Porter.